L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Goetze, Helga


Göttinnen

Goetze, Helga Sophia
Göttinnen [godesses], between 1993 and 1994
embroidery
180 x 175 cm
© photo credit
Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne

Author

Goetze, Helga (1922-2008), Germany

Biography

Helga Goetze was born in Magdeburg, in eastern Germany. For more than twenty years she gave provocative “performances” in the heart of Berlin. Every day, summer and winter alike, she was to be found from 11 am to 1 pm on the steps of the Gedächtniskirche or near the University. There, dressed up in her coat and a hat that she had embroidered herself, she demanded the sexual liberation of women loud and clear. Her slogan: “Ficken ist Frieden” (fucking is peace). Helga Goetze led a middle-class sort of life – she was married and raised seven children – before launching herself into creative activity in the late 1960s.

Helga Goetze’s embroideries are sometimes very large (200 x 200 cm) and are brightly coloured. They reveal an unprecedented inventiveness and perfect compositional organisation. They depict scenes alluding to passages from the Bible, which she hijacks, as well as to other faiths, or to sexual images and images of procreation. In them one sees numerous female nudes, dancing or stretched out in lascivious or provocative poses and set in flowery, idyllic landscapes. Every scene, often contained within a circle, is accompanied by short texts. The latter are presented in the form of protest aphorisms setting out the precepts of a new morality.
Helga Goetze blatantly redefines the imagery of traditional embroidery: she denounces the inhibitions and taboos associated with sexuality and demands carnal, erotic pleasure. She thus proclaims women’s sexual liberation via a technique that was once the symbol of their subjection.

Shop

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Goetze, Helga


Göttinnen

Goetze, Helga Sophia
Göttinnen [déesses], entre 1993 et 1994
broderie
180 x 175 cm
© crédit photographique
Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne

Auteur

Goetze, Helga (1922-2008), Allemagne

Biographie

Helga Goetze est née à Macktenburg, en Allemagne de l’est. Depuis plus de vingt ans, elle se livre à des « performances » provocatrices au cœur de Berlin, se rendant chaque jour, de 11h à 1h, été comme hiver, sur les marches de la Gedächtniskirche, une église au cœur de Berlin, ou près de l’Université. Là, parée de son manteau et d’un chapeau qu’elle a elle-même brodés, elle revendique haut et fort la libération sexuelle de la femme. Son mot d’ordre : « Ficken ist Frieden » (baiser, c’est la paix). Helga Goetze mène une vie bourgeoise – elle s’est mariée et a élevé sept enfants – avant de se lancer dans la création à la fin des années soixante.

Les broderies d’Helga Goetze sont parfois de très grandes dimensions (200 x 200 cm) et sont vivement colorées. Elles révèlent une inventivité inouïe et une parfaite organisation de la composition. Elles représentent des scènes faisant allusion à des passages de la bible qu’elle détourne, ou des images sexuelles ou de procréation. On y voit de nombreuses figures féminines nues, dansantes ou allongées dans des poses lascives ou provocantes, placées dans des paysages fleuris et idylliques. Chaque scène, contenue souvent dans un cercle, est accompagnée de brefs textes. Ils se présentent comme des aphorismes protestataires énonçant les préceptes d’une morale nouvelle.
Helga Goetze redéfinit de manière insolente l’imagerie de la broderie traditionnelle : elle dénonce l’inhibition et les tabous liés à la sexualité et revendique le plaisir charnel et érotique. Elle clame ainsi la libération sexuelle des femmes par le biais d’une technique qui fut le symbole de leur assujettissement.

Boutique