L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Krüsi, Hans


Portrait de Hans Krüsi

photo: Mario Del Curto
@ photo credit
Collection de l'Art Brut, Lausanne

Author

Krüsi, Hans (1920-1995), Switzerland

Biography

Hans Krüsi was born in the canton of Appenzell (Switzerland). He was taken in by some local farmers at the age of two and, eight years later, placed in an orphanage. He later found work as a farmhand, although he dreamt of becoming a gardener. Unable to fulfill his wish, he ended up selling flowers in Zurich and, subsequently, in Bern and the canton of Vaud. He settled permanently in Saint-Gallen in 1948, commuting daily from there to Zurich, where he sold flower bouquets along the opulent Bahnhofstrasse.

Krüsi began drawing at the age of fifty-five, offering his work to customers for a mere pittance. He took up drawing and painting on his own initiative, delving into his childhood memories for the major themes in his pieces: Alpine landscapes, chalets, pine trees, shepherds at work and farm animals. His compositions feature iconic rural motifs that he repeats in profile, side by side, following the horizontal sense of the support.  These "Poya" (cattle drive to mountain pastures), which he deflects from a more traditional approach and reinterprets to his own taste,  lend themselves marvelously to this approach.

He made his first drawings using a felt-tipped pen on napkins, but later resorted to sheets of paper. He also took up painting,  using paper, pieces of cardboard and wood panels as supports. Further still, he created a number of tridimensional pieces.

As of 1980, gallery dealers began taking an interest in his work, but he continued to feel ill at ease seeing his pieces hanging from their walls.

Shop

Exhibition(s) at the Art Brut Collection

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Krüsi, Hans


Portrait de Hans Krüsi

photo: Mario Del Curto
@ crédit photographique
Collection de l'Art Brut, Lausanne

Auteur

Krüsi, Hans (1920-1995), Suisse

Biographie

Né dans le canton d’Appenzell, en Suisse, Hans Krüsi est adopté à l’âge de deux ans par des paysans de la région, avant d’être placé huit ans plus tard dans un orphelinat. Engagé par la suite comme valet de ferme, il souhaite devenir jardinier. Il ne peut exaucer son vœu, mais il vend des fleurs, d’abord à Zurich, puis à Berne et dans le canton de Vaud. En 1948, il s’établit définitivement à Saint-Gall et se déplace presque tous les jours à Zurich où il vend des bouquets sur la luxueuse Bahnhofstrasse.

Krüsi commence à dessiner à l’âge de cinquante-cinq ans; il propose alors ses travaux à ses clients pour quelques francs. Il se lance spontanément dans la création graphique et picturale, puisant dans ses souvenirs d’enfance les thèmes majeurs de ses travaux: paysages alpestres, chalets, sapins, bergers en plein labeur et des animaux de la ferme. Ses compositions à l’iconographie rurale sont caractérisées par la répétition de motifs tracés de profil, côte à côte, dans le sens horizontal du support. Le thème de la Poya (montée du bétail à l’alpage), qu’il détourne de sa représentation traditionnelle et réinterprète, s’y prête à merveille.

Ses premiers dessins sont réalisés au stylo feutre sur des serviettes en papier; par la suite, il emploie des feuilles. Krüsi s’adonne aussi à la peinture sur du papier, des morceaux de carton et des panneaux de bois. Il est par ailleurs également l’auteur d’œuvres tridimentionnelles.

Des galeristes s’intéressent à ses productions à partir de 1980, mais il ressent un certain malaise en voyant désormais ses peintures accrochées à des cimaises.

Boutique

Exposition(s) à la Collection de l'Art Brut