L’ART BRUT

FR | EN

References

Art Brut preferred to the cultural arts

By Jean Dubuffet
Anyone setting out, as we do, to look at the works of irregulars will ultimately acquire a totally different notion from the one commonly held in regard to approved art, the art of museums, galleries, salons - let us call it cultural art. Complete article in L’art brut préféré aux arts culturels, Galerie René Drouin, Paris, 1949.

Foreword

By Jean Dubuffet
It may be that artistic creation, with all that it calls for in the way of free inventiveness, takes place at a higher pitch of tension in the nameless crowd of ordinary people. Complete article as a foreword of L’Art Brut by Michel Thévoz, Skira, 1975.

What future for Art Brut?

By Michel Thévoz
In the Collection's early days, prior to its transfer to Lausanne, it was Jean Dubuffet himself with the help of a very select band of associates, and notably Slavko Kopac, who took full responsibility for its management, development and documentation. At first, Dubuffet considered that it was useful to act in virtual secrecy. Complete article published in the book The Art Brut Collection, BNP Paribas Suisse, 2001.

Art Brut under the ivory gavel

By Lucienne Peiry
95,000 Euros for a mask by Pascal-Désir Maisonneuve; 30,000 and 19,000 Euros for two small drawings by Aloïse. Interest is growing in the poorest art that there is and the price rises on the international market have been dazzling. Complete article published in the magazine Ligeia, 2004.

The adventure of the Collection de l’Art Brut: a tale of diamonds and toads

By Lucienne PeiryLucienne Peiry
“A song bawled out by a girl brushing the stairs affects me more than a skilful cantata. Everyone has their own taste. I love the little. I also love the embryonic, the badly made, the imperfect, the mixed. I prefer rough diamonds, in their gangue [rock casing]. And with toads”. 
These remarks by Jean Dubuffet, written in 1945, already contained a sort of definition of Art Brut before the term actually existed. Complete article published in Dubuffet & L’Art Brut, exhibition catalogue, 2005.


Foreword

By Sarah Lombardi

For all Art Brut authors, creation is born of a vital necessity that was of a ritual, magic, prophylactic or therapeutic nature, rendering the boundary line between art and life extremely tenuous. For some of them, the need to create arises from a revelation, a vision, an auspicious encounter or, simply, this or that occasion: one thinks of Eugenio Santoro (1920-2006), whose first drawing was inspired by the 100th anniversary of the chocolate factory where he worked. Sometimes it is triggered by a painful life event: death, exile, illness or war. In such cases, the creations are part and parcel of the body, a mate for life, until death doth part them. Such authors of Art Brut will unflaggingly produce their subversive and inventive pieces imbued with extraordinarily forceful expressivity. Complete foreword extracted from l'Art Brut, Flammarion, Paris, 2012.


Bibliography on Art Brut

Selection proposed by the Collection de l'Art Brut.

News

25.12.2014
The whole team of the Collection de l'Art Brut wishes you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! [...]

04.12.2014
Archipel review 37 "Affoler la langue" [...]

04.12.2014
Nanetti a Roma [...]

02.12.2014
André Robillard - a visit at the Collection de l'Art Brut [...]

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN

Références

L’Art Brut préféré aux arts culturels

Par Jean Dubuffet
Un qui entreprend, comme nous, de regarder les œuvres des IRRÉGULIERS, il sera conduit à prendre de l’art homologué, l’art donc des musées, galeries, salons – appelons le L’ART CULTUREL – une idée tout à fait différente de l’idée qu’on en a couramment. Article complet tiré de tiré de L’art brut préféré aux arts culturels, Galerie René Drouin, Paris, 1949.

Préface

Par Jean Dubuffet
[...] Il se pourrait que la création, avec tout ce qu’elle réclame de libre invention, se manifeste au contraire à plus haute tension dans la foule anonyme des gens du commun que dans les milieux qui prétendent en détenir le monopole. Article complet publié en préface de L’Art Brut par Michel Thévoz, Skira, 1975.


Quel avenir pour l’Art Brut?

Par Michel Thévoz
Dans les premiers temps de la Collection de l’Art Brut, jusqu’à son transfert à Lausanne, on peut dire que Jean Dubuffet et les rares collaborateurs dont il s’était entouré, notamment Slavko Kopac, en ont assumé à eux seuls la gestion, le développement et la documentation. Dubuffet a cru bon d’opérer d’abord dans une certaine clandestinité. La grande exposition au Musée des arts décoratifs en 1967 a représenté un tournant à cet égard. Article complet publié dans La Collection de l’Art Brut, BNP Paribas Suisse, 2001.


La violence de l’Art Brut sous les marteaux d’ivoire

Par Lucienne Peiry
95'000 euros pour un masque de Pascal-Désir Maisonneuve; 30'000 et 19’000 euros pour deux petits dessins d'Aloïse. L'intérêt pour l’art le plus pauvre qui soit est croissant. Article complet publié dans la revue Ligeia, 2004.

L’aventure de la Collection de l’Art Brut : une histoire de diamants et de crapauds

Par Lucienne Peiry
« Une chanson que braille une fille en brossant l’escalier me bouleverse plus qu’une savante cantate. Chacun son goût. J’aime le peu. J’aime aussi l’embryonnaire, le mal façonné, l’imparfait, le mêlé. J’aime mieux les diamants bruts, dans leur gangue. Et avec crapauds » .
Ces propos de Jean Dubuffet, écrits en 1945, contenaient déjà une sorte de définition de l’Art Brut avant la lettre. Article complet publié dans le catalogue Dubuffet et l'Art Brut, 2005.

Préface

Par Sarah Lombardi
Chez tous les auteurs d’Art Brut, la création relève d’une nécessité vitale, de caractère rituel, magique, prophylactique ou thérapeutique, rendant la frontière entre l’art et la vie extrêmement ténue. Le besoin de créer se manifeste pour certains suite à une révélation, des visions, une rencontre propice ou une simple occasion, comme chez Eugenio Santoro (1920-2006), qui réalisa son premier dessin pour le centenaire de l’usine de chocolat qui l’employait. Parfois, il se déclenche en réponse à un événement douloureux de l’existence : la mort, l’exil, la maladie ou la guerre. Dans ce cas, la création est chevillée au corps, compagne de toute une vie, jusqu’à la mort. L’auteur d’Art Brut produit alors sans relâche des œuvres subversives et inventives, dotées d’une force expressive inouïe. Préface complète tirée de l'Art Brut, Flammarion, Paris, 2012.


Bibliographie sur l'Art Brut

Une sélection de la Collection de l'Art Brut.

Actualités

30.10.2014
À l'aventure musicale de l'Art Brut dans le monde - soirées de concert avec la HEMU [...]

24.10.2014
la Collection de l'Art Brut prête une œuvre de Judith Scott au Brooklyn Museum (New York) [...]

14.10.2014
Des oeuvres de la Collection de l'Art Brut au Musée d'Orsay, Paris [...]

03.10.2014
Trois oeuvres de Darger prêtées par la Collection de l'Art Brut à la Bundeskunsthalle (Bonn/DE) [...]