L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


André Robillard



  • In 1964, André Robillard decided to "make something of his life": he set about assembling various objects taken from waste bins to come up with his first rifles. At the age of eighty-three, this creator of Art Brut continues to produce works in the vein of those that inspired Jean Dubuffet to include several specimens in his own collection. Combining salvaged materials and carved wood, for fifty years now Robillard has unflaggingly constructed rifles, as well as airplanes, sputniks, and animals. He also continues to produce many drawings in colored pencil or felt-tip pen with, as his subject matter, war, aerospace, the animal world and sports.

    The first solo show by the Collection de l'Art Brut devoted to André Robillard's creations highlights his capacity for experimenting, for seeking out new approaches by varying as much his subjects as his supports. This vast retrospective, featuring 130 pieces exclusively from the Lausanne museum's holdings, together with a selection of photographs, archival documents and films, pays tribute to one of the last "historic" creators of Art Brut still alive today.

    Art Brut has played a major role in the artistic recognition bestowed upon André Robillard's oeuvre. On the one hand, having first discovered Robillard's rifles thanks to Dr. Paul Renard, Jean Dubuffet was inspired to add several to his own collection. And on the other, Robillard's works went on display as part of the Lausanne museum's Permanent Collection right from its opening in 1976. A year later, the museum's first director, Michel Thévoz, sent Robillard a postal card depicting his 1964 rifle. This highly delighted the creator, inspiring him to go on working non-stop: he thus sought to "kill misery" and "change his life."

    Exhibition Curator: Sarah Lombardi
    Director of the Collection de l’Art Brut

    Presentation of André Robillard by Sarah Lombardi

    About Art Brut Around the World in the medias:

  • Practical information

    Dates

    november 28, 2014 - april 19, 2015


    Opening reception

    Thursday 27 november 2014
    6pm - Collection de l'Art Brut Lausanne
    8:30pm - Théâtre de Vidy Lausanne


    Exhibition curator

    Sarah Lombardi, director of the Collection de l'Art Brut


    Publication

    André Robillard, (French/ English), directed by Sarah Lombardi, Lausanne/ Milan, Collection de l’Art Brut/ 5 Continents, 2014, (160 pages, 168 ill.), incl. a DVD


    Accessibility  

    The exhibition is not accessible to people with reduced mobility.

    Free guided tours

    November 29 at 11am
    January 17 at 2pm
    March 21 at 2pm
    online booking, within the limits of the seats available.

    On September 6 and October 4, tours for the public are scheduled at the same time as the Young Public workshops.


    Young public workshop (ages 6-12)
    Fee: 10.- per child

    January 17 at 2pm
    March 11 at 2pm
    March 21 at 2pm
    online booking, within the limits of the seats available.

    Exhibition activities album

    For youngsters ages 6 to 10
    Offered free of charge, together with a box of colored pencils.

    Guided tours

    Upon request for groups and classes: in French, German, English and Italian.

    Free guided tours for teachers (duration 60 min)

    Thursday 4 december 5pm
    Thursday 15 january 5pm
    online booking, within the limits of the seats available.


    At the théâtre de Vidy - Lausanne

    Changer la vie: a play by Alexis Forestier on and with André Robillard
    From december 2 thru 17, 2014 (duration 1h20)

    Alexis Forestier and André Robillard are strange stage mates. The two together concocted a first stage adventure under the title Tuer la misère (Killing Misery), a hybrid and iconoclastic attempt that propelled them into the visual inventions and linguistic improvisations thought up by Robillard, as he grappled with Forestier's musical and stage language. The two artists have once again teamed up with each other, this time for Changer la vie (Changing Life) - a prolongation of their first play, even more narrowed down to all that bonds them together.

    Works from the "Tuer la misere" collection: exhibition in the lobby of the Théâtre de Vidy.
    From november 28 thru december 18, 2014.
    These guns and drawings are works carried out by André Robillard since 2008, in collaboration with Alexis Forestier and in connection with the stage sets for Tuer la misère and Changer la vie.

    Biography-ies:

    Shop

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


André Robillard



  • André Robillard décide en 1964 « de faire quelque chose de sa vie » : il se met à assembler des objets de récupération pour construire ses premiers fusils. Aujourd’hui, à huitante-trois ans, cet auteur d'Art Brut dont les œuvres ont été collectionnées par Jean Dubuffet demeure toujours actif. Depuis cinquante ans, il crée sans relâche des fusils, ainsi que des avions, des spoutniks et des animaux avec des matériaux de rebut et du bois découpé. Il réalise également de nombreux dessins au crayon de couleur ou au stylo-feutre, qui ont pour thèmes la guerre, l’aérospatiale, le monde animal et le sport.

    Cette première exposition monographique que la Collection de l’Art Brut consacre à André Robillard témoigne de sa capacité à expérimenter et à rechercher de nouvelles voies en variant les sujets et les supports. À travers la présentation de 130 œuvres issues exclusivement du fonds du musée lausannois, ainsi que de photographies, de documents d’archives et de films, cette vaste rétrospective rend hommage à l’un des auteurs d’Art Brut «historiques» encore vivant.

    L’Art Brut a joué un rôle déterminant dans la reconnaissance artistique du travail d’André Robillard. D’une part, Jean Dubuffet découvre ses fusils par l’intermédiaire du docteur Paul Renard et en fait l’acquisition. D’autre part, ses œuvres sont exposées dans la collection permanente du musée lausannois dès son ouverture, en 1976. L’année suivante, Michel Thévoz, premier directeur de l’institution, envoie à André Robillard une carte postale représentant son fusil de 1964 : ce sera pour lui une immense joie ; il se remet à l’ouvrage pour ne plus s’arrêter, cherchant par le biais de la création à « tuer la misère » et à « changer sa vie ».
     
    Commissariat : Sarah Lombardi
    Directrice de la Collection de l’Art Brut 

    Articles en lien avec l'exposition André Robillard:


  • Informations pratiques

    Dates

    Du 28 novembre 2014 au 19 avril 2015


    Vernissage

    jeudi 27 novembre 2014

    18h00: Collection de l'Art Brut Lausanne
    20h30: Théâtre de Vidy Lausanne


    Commissaire

    Sarah Lombardi, directrice de la Collection de l'Art Brut


    Publication

    André Robillard, (français/ anglais), sous la direction de Sarah Lombardi, Lausanne/ Milan, Collection de l’Art Brut/ 5 Continents, 2014, (160 pages, 168 ill.), incluant un DVD.


    Affiche, affichette, cartes postales

    Affiche format mondial (120 x 90 cm) et affichette de l’exposition; cartes postales.


    Accessibilité  

    L’exposition n'est pas accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

    Visites commentées publiques gratuites
    (entrée du musée payante) - durée 60 min.

    samedi 29 novembre à 11h
    samedi 17 janvier à 14h
    samedi 21 mars à 14h
    Inscription en ligne, dans la limite des places disponibles.

    Les 17 janvier et 21 mars, les visites publiques sont organisées en même temps que les ateliers jeune public.


    Ateliers jeune public (6-12ans)
    Durée 1h30/ Prix: 10.- par enfant

    samedi 17 janvier à 14h
    mercredi 11 mars à 14h
    samedi 21 mars à 14h
    Inscription en ligne, dans la limite des places disponibles.

    Album-jeu de l'exposition

    Pour les enfants de 6 à 10 ans
    Distribué gratuitement avec une boîte de crayons de couleur

    Visites sur demande

    Pour groupes et classes : visites sur demande (en français, allemand, anglais et italien)

    Visites commentées gratuites pour enseignants (durée 60 min)

    jeudi 4 décembre à 17h
    jeudi 15 janvier à 17h
    Destinée aux enseignants des niveaux secondaires et postobligatoires.
    Inscription en ligne, dans la limite des places disponibles.


    Au théâtre de Vidy - Lausanne

    Changer la vie: spectacle d'Alexis Forestier sur et avec André Robillard
    Du 2 au 17 décembre 2014 (durée 1h20)

    Alexis Forestier et André Robillard sont d'étranges compagnons de scène. Ensemble, ils ont imaginé une première aventure scénique intitulée Tuer la Misère, tentative hybride et iconoclaste, qui les propulsés dans les inventions visuelles et les improvisations langagières de Robillard, aux prises avec le langage musical et scénique de Forestier. Les deux artistes font à nouveau attelage, cette fois-ci pour Changer la Vie, qui est un prolongement de cette première pièce, davantage resserré encore sur leur complicité.

    Œuvres de la collection « Tuer la misère » : exposition dans le foyer du Théâtre de Vidy.
    Du 28 novembre au 18 décembre 2014.
    Ces fusils et dessins ont été réalisés depuis 2008 par André Robillard, en collaboration avec Alexis Forestier, à la périphérie du travail scénique des spectacles Tuer la misère et Changer la vie.

    Biographie-s:

    Boutique