L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Marguerite Burnat-Provins



  • When the call to arms rang out in 1914, Marguerite Burnat-Provins (1872-1952) suddenly experienced visions: "I endure them, cringe as I feel them coming and simply cannot help drawing them.” She produced an endless succession of faces and figures, all of which are inhabited by a twofold presence - part man, part animal. These she transcribed by the thousands until her death, using pencil and watercolor and working in frenzied and solitary haste.

    In this series, entitled Ma Ville (my town), Burnat-Provins touches upon the darkest zones of creation, in her effort to call forth works that are highly personal, feral and rebellious.

    Presented here are the hallucinatory paintings that Marguerite Burnat-Provins - a French-born Swiss artist and writer - produced later in life. The some fifty works on display belong to the Collection Neuve Invention and several private collections. This exhibition has been jointly organized with the Fondation Neumann in Gingins, where a number of this creator’s earlier works are on display: posters, book jackets and decorative art projects, together with paintings and drawings inspired by life in the country.

  • Practical Information

    Dates

    From May 22 to September 14, 2003
    Vernissage on May 21, 2003, at 6.5 pm

    Curator

    Lucienne Peiry

    Exhibition Book

    Helen Bieri Thomson, Jérôme Crosier, Catherine Dubuis, Pascal Le Maléfan, Lucienne Peiry, Marguerite Burnat- Provins: de l’art nouveau à l’art hallucinatoire, Paris/Gingins, Somogy Editions d’Art/Fondation Neumann, 2003.

    Film / DVD

    Events

    Free Guided Tour

    Partenaires

    Boutique

    Enseignants

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Marguerite Burnat-Provins



  • En 1914, au moment de la Mobilisation, Marguerite Burnat-Provins (1872-1952) est brusquement sujette à des visions: « Je les subis, je les sens venir en courbant les épaules et ne peux pas ne pas les dessiner. » Les figures et les personnages se succèdent inlassablement, habités d'une double présence, celle de l'homme et de l'animal. Au crayon et à l'aquarelle, l'artiste les retranscrit fiévreusement, par milliers, jusqu'à sa mort, dans la hâte, la frénésie et la solitude.

    Dans cette série intitulée Ma Ville, Marguerite Burnat-Provins fraie avec les zones les plus obscures de la création, cherchant à faire émerger une production personnelle, sauvage et dissidente.

    La Collection de l'Art Brut présente les peintures hallucinatoires de l'artiste et écrivaine suisse, d'origine française, qui constituent son œuvre tardive. La cinquantaine de compositions présentées est issue de la Collection Neuve Invention et de collections particulières. Cette exposition est organisée en lien avec celle de la Fondation Neumann, à Gingins, qui propose la production antérieure, à savoir des affiches, des couvertures de livres, des projets d'arts décoratifs, ainsi que des peintures et des dessins inspirés par la vie rurale.

    Un catalogue paraît à l’occasion de cette double manifestation: Helen Bieri Thomson, Jérôme Croisier, Catherine Dubuis, Pascal Le Maléfan et Lucienne Peiry, Marguerite Burnat-Provins (1872-1952): de l'Art nouveau à l'art hallucinatoire, Editions Fondation Neumann et Editions Somogy, 2003.

  • Informations pratiques

    Dates

    Du 22 mai au 14 septembre 2003

    Vernissage le jeudi 21 mai 2003 à 18h30

    Commissaire

    Lucienne Peiry

    Catalogue de l’exposition

    Helen Bieri Thomson, Jérôme Crosier, Catherine Dubuis, Pascal Le Maléfan, Lucienne Peiry, Marguerite Burnat- Provins: de l’art nouveau à l’art hallucinatoire, Paris/Gingins, Somogy Editions d’Art/Fondation Neumann, 2003.

    Film / DVD

    Evénements liés

    Visite commentée publique gratuite

    Partenaires

    Boutique

    Enseignants