L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


L'Envers et l'Endroit



  • Embroidery, sewing, tapestry, knitting, lace-making, crochet. The various types of needlework, activities traditionally allotted to women, subjugated them to a model to follow, a framework, a so aptly named pattern. Pledged to these domestic tasks, they sacrificed their independence of spirit and their creative freedom for them.

    Jeanne Tripier, Madge Gill, Agnès Richter and Rosa Zharkikh explode these ancestral principles and indeed seem to contest this subservience through their bold, prodigious creations. Astonishing finery, embroidered life stories, magical fetishes, poetic tangles: Art Brut creators give substance to the daydreams that they evoke between transparency and opaqueness. In the manner of Adolf Wölfli, who, in his music scores, invented his own rudimentary musical notations, Judith Scott, Juliette Bataille, Yumiko Kawai and Jules Leclercq devise stitches, knots, lacings or weavings, sometimes in a sense of refinement, sometimes in a rage. Embroidery, sewing and knitting represent so many ritual actions – favouring roving thoughts – thanks to which they move away from reality and allow their fantasies to unfold. As such, Marguerite Sirvins’ wedding dress, created for an improbable wedding day using threads drawn from her bed sheets, is emblematic.

    The venture takes them back in time since it revives the medieval era when textile works were considered a major art, reserved for men, exalting great feats in the fields of religion, war and politics. For their part, Art Brut creators reach the open, weave cloth and web to attain the vertiginous, dreamlike territories of the mind. They reveal the wrong side and the right side of existence.

    The exhibition brings together some thirty artists from Armenia, Russia, Belgium, Germany, France, Switzerland, Italy, Great Britain and the Czech Republic as well as Japan, Australia, the USA and South America. The works come from the Collection de l’Art Brut or from private and public collections. We are grateful to lenders who have agreed to part temporarily with fragile pieces.

    Several documentary films will be presented in the galleries to allow the public to find out about the artists and the places where they live (or lived) and create.
  • Practical Information

    Dates

    June 8, 2007 to January 21, 2008
    Opening ceremony Thursday June 7, 2008

    Curator

    Lucienne Peiry

    Film / DVD

    • Trésors cachés. L’énigme Angus McPhee, de Nick Higgins, 25 min., Lansdowne Productions, 2004.
    • Jacques Trovic, de Jean-Michel Zazzi, 55 min., Nice, 2001.
    • Les cocons magiques de Judith Scott, de Philippe Lespinasse, 37 min., Lausanne/Bordeaux, Collection de l’Art Brut/Lokomotiv Films, 2006.
    • Monsieur Poladian : en habits de ville, de Jean-Noël Cristiani, 13 min., Les films de l’homme, AATON, SERDDAV.

    Biography-ies:

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


L'Envers et l'Endroit



  • Broderie, couture, tapisserie, tricot, dentelle, crochet. Les travaux d’aiguille, activités traditionnellement dévolues aux femmes, les ont assujetties au modèle à suivre, au canevas et au si bien nommé patron. Inféodées à ces tâches domestiques, elles y ont sacrifié leur indépendance d’esprit et leur liberté créatrice.

    Jeanne Tripier, Madge Gill, Agnès Richter ou Rosa Zharkikh font voler en éclats ces principes ancestraux et semblent bel et bien contester cet asservissement par leurs audacieuses et prodigieuses créations. Parures singulières, histoires de vie brodées, fétiches magiques, écheveaux poétiques, les auteurs d’Art Brut donnent corps à des rêveries qu’ils évoquent entre la transparence et l’opacité. A l’instar d’Adolf Wölfli qui, dans ses partitions musicales, invente ses propres notations de solfège, Judith Scott, Juliette Bataille, Yumiko Kawai ou Jules Leclercq imaginent points, nœuds, laçages ou tissages, tantôt dans le raffinement, tantôt l’acharnement. Broder, coudre, tricoter, autant d’actes rituels - favorisant la pensée vagabonde - grâce auxquels ils se déprennent du réel et dévident leurs fantasmes. A ce titre, la robe de mariée de Marguerite Sirvins, créée à l’aide de fils tirés des draps de son lit pour un jour de noces improbable, est emblématique.

    L’aventure les fait remonter dans le temps puisqu’elle renoue avec l’époque médiévale où les œuvres textiles étaient considérées comme un art majeur, réservé aux hommes, exaltant les hauts-faits religieux, guerriers et politiques. Les auteurs d’Art Brut, quant à eux, gagnent le large, tissent toiles et réseaux pour atteindre des territoires oniriques et mentaux vertigineux. Ils disent l’envers et l’endroit de l’existence.

    L’exposition réunit une trentaine d’artistes d’Arménie, de Russie, de Belgique, d’Allemagne, de France, de Suisse, d’Italie, de Grande-Bretagne, de République tchèque ainsi que du Japon, d’Australie, des Etats-Unis et d’Amérique du Sud. Les œuvres proviennent de la Collection de l’Art Brut ainsi que de collections privées et publiques.

    Plusieurs films documentaires sont présentés dans les salles pour permettre au public de découvrir les artistes sur leur lieu de vie et de création.

  • Informations pratiques

    Dates

    Du 8 juin 2007 au 21 janvier 2008

    Vernissage le jeudi 7 juin 2007 à 18h30

    Commissaire

    Lucienne Peiry

    Catalogue de l’exposition

    Film / DVD

    • Trésors cachés. L’énigme Angus McPhee, de Nick Higgins, 25 min., Lansdowne Productions, 2004.
    • Jacques Trovic, de Jean-Michel Zazzi, 55 min., Nice, 2001.
    • Les cocons magiques de Judith Scott, de Philippe Lespinasse, 37 min., Lausanne/Bordeaux, Collection de l’Art Brut/Lokomotiv Films, 2006.
    • Monsieur Poladian : en habits de ville, de Jean-Noël Cristiani, 13 min., Les films de l’homme, AATON, SERDDAV.

    Evénements liés

    Visite commentée publique gratuite

    Partenaires

    Boutique

    Enseignants

    Biographie-s: