L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Nannetti "colonel astral"



  • The psychiatric hospital of Volterra featured but one place where the patients could take in the sky and the fresh air - namely, the courtyard where they could take their daily walk. Some played cards, while others conversed or smoked pilfered cigarette butts. One of them, a young man of thirty-two, conspicuously kept to himself: Fernando Oreste Nannetti never spoke to anyone. Every day, however, he would write on the prison walls, using the metal tongue of his jacket clasp. Within a nine-year period he created an enormous written oeuvre covering a wall 70 meters (230 feet) long.

    These carved writings, reminiscent of Etruscan characters, reveal a staggering universe between dream and reality, science and fantasy. At times, Nannetti endowed the family he dreamt up for himself with papal or royal ancestry. Convinced as he was of being in touch with supernatural, cosmic presences, he put into poetry his relations with the interstellar world, as well as with the earth and its bowels. Seeing himself as "an astronaut, a mining engineer of the mental system", Nannetti donned the title of "Astral Colonel".

    A fanciful diary keeper, he would whip words and sentences into a frenzy with plays on their rhythm and sound, while interspersing his "pages" with drawings: writing and figuration are combined in unusual fashion in his "stone book".

    The first to present a retrospective of Fernando Nannetti’s oeuvre, this exhibition displays fragments of his writings (facsimile versions), photographs bearing witness to his work as a whole, and pictures of the Volterra psychiatric hospital. An award-winning documentary film invites viewers to become familiar with the unique story behind this Art Brut production.

    The Collection de l’Art Brut extends heartfelt thanks to Pier Nello Manoni, the photographer and film director whose initiative spurred this homage. It is also grateful to notably Aldo Trafeli, Erika Manoni and Alessandro Bonifazi for their generosity and unfailing support, with thanks as well to Azienda USL 5 Pisa.

  • Practical Information

    Dates

    From May 13 to October 30, 2011

    Vernissage on May 12, 2011, at 6.5 pm

    Curator

    Lucienne Peiry

    Exhibition Book

    Vincent Capt et Jessica Schupbach, Anne Lovell, Pier Nello Manoni, Lucienne Peiry, Ilario Rossi et Antonio Tabucchi, Nannetti, Gollion/Lausanne, Infolio/Collection de l’Art Brut, 2011.

    Film / DVD

    I graffiti della mente. N.O.F.4 moro secco spinaceo [Fernando Nannetti], 20 min., de Pier Nello et Erika Manoni, Rome, Blue Films, 2002.

    Events

    Free Guided Tour

    Partenaires

    Boutique

    Enseignants

    Biography-ies:

    Shop

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Nannetti "colonel astral"



  • La cour de l’hôpital psychiatrique de Volterra, en Toscane, est le seul espace où les patients sont en contact avec le ciel et l’air libre, à l’heure de la promenade. Certains jouent aux cartes, d’autres discutent ou fument des mégots chapardés. L’un d’entre eux, un jeune homme de trente-deux ans, reste toujours à l’écart: Fernando Oreste Nannetti n’adresse la parole à personne, mais écrit chaque jour sur les façades de l’édifice, gravant dans la pierre à l’aide de la pointe métallique de la boucle de son gilet. Durant neuf ans, il réalise à ciel ouvert un livre de pierre, une œuvre scripturale colossale qui se déploie sur un mur de 70 mètres de longueur.

    Ces textes gravés, dont la graphie rappelle l’écriture étrusque, révèlent un monde stupéfiant, entre rêve et réalité, science et imaginaire. Nannetti s’invente une famille, qu’il gratifie parfois d’une origine papale ou royale. Persuadé d’être relié à des présences surnaturelles et cosmiques, il restitue poétiquement ses échanges avec l’univers interstellaire, comme avec la terre et ses entrailles. « Astronaute, ingénieur des mines du système mental », Nannetti s’attribue le titre de « colonel astral ».

    Diariste extravagant, l’auteur fait s’affoler les phrases et les mots en jouant avec leur rythme et leur sonorité, tout en ponctuant ses pages de dessins. Ecriture et figuration forment une alliance insolite dans sa production lapidaire.

    Cette exposition est la première rétrospective consacrée à Fernando Nannetti. Elle présente des fragments de ses écrits (en fac-similés), des photographies témoignant de l’oeuvre dans sa totalité, ainsi que des images de l’hôpital psychiatrique de Volterra. Un film documentaire, primé à plusieurs reprises, invite le public à saisir l’histoire singulière de cette production d’Art Brut.

    Un catalogue présente un panorama photographique des écrits de Nannetti in extenso, ainsi que des essais de plusieurs auteurs, dont l’écrivain italien Antonio Tabucchi. Il contient également l’ensemble des textes de Nannetti, déchiffrés, transcrits et traduits, de même que le film I graffiti della mente. N.O.F. 4 Moro Secco Spinaceo.

    La Collection de l’Art Brut exprime sa vive reconnaissance à Pier Nello Manoni, photographe et réalisateur, qui est à l’origine de cet hommage. Elle adresse un signe particulier à Erika Manoni, Alessandro Bonifazi et Aldo Trafeli pour leur générosité et leur soutien constant, et remercie Aulo Guidi, André Glauser ainsi que l’Azienda USL 5 Pisa.

  • Informations pratiques

    Dates

    Du 13 mai au 30 octobre 2011

    Vernissage le jeudi 12 mai 2011 à 18h30

    Commissaire

    Lucienne Peiry

    Catalogue de l’exposition

    Vincent Capt et Jessica Schupbach, Anne Lovell, Pier Nello Manoni, Lucienne Peiry, Ilario Rossi et Antonio Tabucchi, Nannetti, Gollion/Lausanne, Infolio/Collection de l’Art Brut, 2011.

    Film / DVD

    I graffiti della mente. N.O.F.4 moro secco spinaceo [Fernando Nannetti], 20 min., de Pier Nello et Erika Manoni, Rome, Blue Films, 2002.

    Evénements liés

    Visite commentée publique gratuite

    Partenaires

    Boutique

    Enseignants

    Biographie-s:

    Boutique