L’ART BRUT

FR | EN

Sarah Lombardi

The art historian Sarah Lombardi has directed the Collection de l'Art Brut since 2013. As both its interim director (January 2012 to February 2013) and scientific collaborator (from 2004), Ms. Lombardi  has coordinated a number of exhibitions both within the museum and abroad.

Prior to joining the Collection de l'Art Brut, Sarah Lombardi worked as a freelance curator (Montreal, New York, Lausanne, Brussels). In the period from 2001 to 2003, she worked as an exhibition coordinator for the Quebec Foundation for Therapeutic Art and Art Brut in Montreal; during the year 2001, she taught Swiss French literature at the University of Montreal.

Since becoming the museum's official director (2013), Ms. Lombardi has created a new publication series highlighting the museum collections: Art Brut, la collection (Collection de l'Art Brut/5 Continents Publishers). Each edition comes in two separate volumes (English/French), accompanying the Biennales de l'Art Brut (Art Brut Biennials)—that is, exhibitions focussing on a certain theme and presenting exclusively works from the museum's holdings. Ms. Lombardi has also published two monographs on respectively Aloïse and André Robillard, in connection with the solo shows on these two historically major creators, as presented in 2012 (Aloïse) and 2014/15 (Robillard). In addition, Ms. Lombardi is continuing the L'Art Brut fascicle series launched by Jean Dubuffet in 1964, ensuring the release of Issue No. 25 for the series' fiftieth anniversary.

The year 2005 saw the publication of Ms. Lombardi's book Richard Greaves, Anarchitecte (Milan/Montreal, 5 Continents Editions/Société des arts indisciplinés). Not to mention the countless articles on Art Brut that Ms. Lombardi has contributed over the years to various exhibition catalogues and specialized journals.

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN

Sarah Lombardi

Historienne de l’art, Sarah Lombardi est directrice de la Collection de l’Art Brut depuis mars 2013. Auparavant, elle a assuré la direction ad interim de janvier 2012 à février 2013, après avoir été conservatrice au sein du musée depuis 2007, et collaboratrice scientifique dès 2004, années durant lesquelles elle a coordonné de nombreuses expositions au sein de l’institution et à l’étranger.

Avant la Collection de l’Art Brut, Sarah Lombardi était commissaire d’exposition indépendante (Montréal, New York, Lausanne, Bruxelles). De 2001 à 2003, elle a travaillé comme coordinatrice des expositions à la Fondation pour l’art thérapeutique et l’art brut du Québec, à Montréal, et a enseigné la littérature romande à l’Université de Montréal (2001).

Dès son arrivée à la tête du musée, en 2013, Sarah Lombardi a créé une nouvelle série éditoriale axée sur les collections du musée, Art Brut, la collection (Collection de l’Art Brut/5 Continents éditions). Cet ouvrage en deux éditions séparées (français/ anglais) accompagne les Biennales de l’Art Brut, des expositions axées sur un thème, qui présentent exclusivement des œuvres issues du fonds de l’institution. Sarah Lombardi a publié également deux ouvrages monographiques sur Aloïse et André Robillard, en lien avec les expositions monographiques sur ces deux auteurs historiques, présentées respectivement en 2012 et en 2014/2015. Elle poursuit aussi la série des fascicules L’Art Brut, initiée en 1964 par Jean Dubuffet, et a fait paraître le n° 25 en 2014, à l’occasion des 50 ans de cette série.

Sarah Lombardi est aussi l’auteur de l’ouvrage Richard Greaves, Anarchitecte (Milan/Montréal, 5 Continents Editions/Société des arts indisciplinés, 2005). Elle a par ailleurs rédigé de nombreux articles sur l’Art Brut dans des catalogues d’exposition et des revues spécialisées.

Actualités

24.09.2015
Prêt d'oeuvres de la Collection de l'Art Brut au Musée d'art contemporain de Zagreb [...]

04.07.2015
Les Jardins de l'Art Brut [...]

01.07.2015
L'édition 2015 des Jardins de l'Art Brut s'annonce sous les meilleurs auspices! [...]

22.06.2015
Ré-accrochage du magistral rouleau d'Aloïse au coeur de la Collection permanente du musée [...]