L’ART BRUT

FR | EN

In 1982, Jean Dubuffet regrouped the "Annex Collection" works under the heading "Neuve Invention." The resulting collection assembled subversive and inventive pieces (paintings, drawings, sculptures, fabric creations) by artists out of sync with the cultural circles governed by galleries and museums. Their stylistic approach, their materials and their bold iconographic choices set those first Neuve Invention creators apart from officially recognized art. Today, their creations, providing a new take on art as such, are housed in the Collection de l'Art Brut museum in Lausanne.


This novel heading cropped up at a time when, during the late seventies and early eighties, artistic production as a whole was evolving. The commercial distribution and promotion channels (museums, galleries, art shows) were considered stifling by classic art school graduates, who hence sought to bypass them. Neuve Invention represented a new way to make a name for themselves, a channel attuned to their state of mind, their values, their audacity and their casual outlook. In short, Neuve Invention came to be seen as a source of freedom and inventiveness with which they could identify. Moreover, staking their claim to a position straddling Art Brut and cultural art, these artists sought to take advantage of the Collection de l'Art Brut's more open-minded stance. They took to soliciting its curator, Michel Thévoz who, with the assistance of Geneviève Roulin, directed the institution from 1976 to 2001 in a spirit that, at last, seemed to correspond with these artists' outlook.

To Michel Thévoz, the attitude of such creators seemed like a cultural and institutional challenge and, too, a possible alternative to artistic commercialization and stardom consecration. The collection expanded rapidly thanks to numerous acquisitions and donations of works encompassing, notably, drawings by Albert Louden, Jean-Pierre Nadau, Carol Bailly, Marta Grunenwaldt, Victorien Sardou, J.B. Murry, fabric pieces by Danielle Jacqui and Jacques Trovic, wood sculptures by Rodolpho Abella, and watercolors by Ody Saban.  Further acquisitions include major bodies of drawings by Claudia Sattler, François Burland, and Rosemarie Koczÿ, and Alain Arnedo's mail art. Michel Thévoz also enlarged groups of works  previously acquired by Dubuffet, adding pieces by Joseph Sanfourche, Ignacio Carles-Tolrà and Marie-Rose Lortet. One of the museum gallery rooms featured shows devoted to Neuve Invention creators—for instance, Gérard Lattier, Rosemarie Koczÿ, Benno Kaiser and Lena Vandrey. Other shows were mounted in, among other countries, France and Spain.
 
Early on, Neuve Invention served as a category into which dubious cases could be relegated, and as a means of eluding the radical divide between Art Brut and cultural art. Gradually, however, the term widened to include creators whose work seemed difficult to label "Art Brut"—the likes of Louis Soutter, Joseph Sanfourche, Philippe Dereux and Friederich Schröder-Sonnenstern. Some of those whom the heading came to encompass had not broken away from the "fine arts" as radically as had the Art Brut creators. Slavko Kopac and Giordano Falzoni come to mind. Children's drawings, as well as works in a naïve or folk art vein, of the sort Dubuffet had acquired when he began canvassing, also fell under the heading. Then, too, the term came to serve for works by persons actually belonging to the fringes of society, but whose production seemed overly akin to work stemming from the Western visual culture, e.g. Friederich Schröder-Sonnenstern and Alcide.

First with the consent of Jean Dubuffet until the latter's death in 1985, and then on his own initiative, Michel Thévoz integrated, or reintegrated, into the Art Brut Collection works by creators formerly affiliated with Neuve Invention, such as Louis Soutter, Giovanni Battista Podestà, Michel Nedjar, Gaston Chaissac, and Paul Goesch. Since then, several works by these creators have remained on display in the museum's Permanent Collection.

In the meantime, a great number of institutional venues and galleries began assembling Neuve Invention pieces. Lucienne Peiry, director of the Collection de l'Art Brut from 2001 to 2011, thus felt entitled to put Art Brut itself more in the Lausanne museum's limelight. Nonetheless, and happily so, donations have continued to enrich the institution's Neuve Invention Collection on a regular basis.  

News

04.12.2014
Archipel review 37 "Affoler la langue" [...]

14.11.2014
Lucienne Peiry and "L'Art Brut dans le monde" in Tours (FR) [...]

27.10.2014
Sarah Lombardi participates in the International Colloquium "Art Brut et Matérialité: de l'imaginaire à l'œuvre". (Art Brut and Materiality: from the imagined to the created) [...]

18.10.2014
Lecture by Sarah Lombardi at the Museum im Lagerhaus St.Gallen [...]

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN

Neuve Invention


C’est en 1982 que Jean Dubuffet donne le nom de « Neuve Invention » à  ses  « collections annexes ». La collection « Neuve Invention » regroupe un ensemble d’œuvres subversives et inventives (peintures, dessins, sculptures, créations textiles) réalisées par des artistes en porte à faux avec le milieu culturel régi par les galeries et musées. Les auteurs de « Neuve Invention » se démarquent de la création homologuée, notamment par les procédés stylistiques qu’ils mettent en œuvre, les matériaux qu’ils emploient ou leurs choix iconographiques audacieux. Leurs oeuvres sont porteuses d’un vent nouveau. La collection « Neuve Invention » est conservée à la Collection de l’Art Brut.


Cette nouvelle terminologie intervient à un moment où, à la fin des années soixante-dix et au début des années quatre-vingt, on assiste à une évolution de la production artistique. De plus en plus d’artistes suivant des filières de formation habituelles cherchent à contourner les systèmes de diffusion et de valorisation marchande (musées, galeries, expositions) qu’ils ressentent comme asphyxiants. « Neuve Invention » devient dès lors pour eux une nouvelle voie de diffusion de leur travail, correspondant à leur état d’esprit, leurs valeurs, leurs audaces et leur désinvolture. « Neuve Invention » est perçue comme un espace de liberté et d’inventivité dans lequel ils se reconnaissent. D’autre part, les artistes revendiquent volontiers leur position entre l’Art Brut et l’art culturel, et désirent profiter du mouvement d’ouverture de la Collection de l’Art Brut, à Lausanne. Ils sollicitent son conservateur,  Michel Thévoz, qui, assisté de Geneviève Roulin, dirige l’institution de 1976 à 2001, comme si, enfin, un lieu correspondait à leur démarche.

Michel Thévoz voit dans les positions de ces auteurs une contestation culturelle et institutionnelle, et une alternative possible à la commercialisation et à la vedettarisation artistiques. Dès lors, cette collection prend son essor et se développe par des achats et des dons d’œuvres, notamment des dessins de Albert Louden, Jean-Pierre Nadau, Carol Bailly, Marta Grunenwaldt, Victorien Sardou, J.B. Murry, des travaux textiles de Danielle Jacqui et Jacques Trovic, des sculptures en bois de Rodolpho Abella, des aquarelles de Ody Saban; des corpus importants de dessins de Claudia Sattler, François Burland, Rosemarie Koczÿ ou de mail art de Alain Arneodo l’enrichissent encore. Michel Thévoz renforce des ensembles d’œuvres acquis par Dubuffet, notamment des travaux de Joseph Sanfourche, Ignacio Carles-Tolrà ou Marie-Rose Lortet. Des expositions consacrées aux auteurs de « Neuve Invention » ̵ Gérard Lattier, Rosemarie Koczÿ, Benno Kaiser ou Lena Vandrey ̵  sont organisées au musée, dans une salle spécifique, ainsi qu’en France et en Espagne, entre autres.

« Neuve Invention » était d’abord un lieu de relégation des cas douteux et un moyen d’éluder l’alternative radicale de l’Art Brut et de l’art culturel. Elle s’est progressivement enrichie : certains auteurs qui représentaient des cas problématiques au regard de l’Art Brut, deviennent les nouveaux porte-drapeaux, comme Louis Soutter, Joseph Sanfourche, Philippe Dereux ou Friederich Schröder-Sonnenstern. On y trouve des productions d’auteurs dont la démarche ne procède pas de la rupture aussi radicale que les auteurs d’Art Brut, comme Slavko Kopac ou Giordano Falzoni. Y sont regroupés également des dessins d’enfants, des œuvres naïves ou relevant de l’art populaire, travaux collectionnés par Dubuffet au début de ses prospections. On y recense aussi des oeuvres réalisées par des personnes réellement marginales, mais dont les productions se rapprochent trop des créations issues de la culture visuelle occidentale, par exemple, Friederich Schröder-Sonnenstern ou Alcide.

Avec l’accord de Jean Dubuffet jusqu’à son décès en 1985, puis de son propre chef, Michel Thévoz intégre ou réintègre dans l’Art Brut Louis Soutter, Giovanni Battista Podestà, Michel Nedjar, Gaston Chaissac, Paul Goesch, précédemment affiliés à « Neuve Invention » ; il présente désormais quelques œuvres de ces auteurs dans la collection permanente du musée.

Encouragée par la profusion de lieux institutionnels ou galeries proposant des oeuvres sous le label « Neuve Invention », Lucienne Peiry, qui a dirigé l’institution entre 2001 et 2011, a choisi de mettre davantage l’accent sur les auteurs d’Art Brut. Des dons réguliers continuent à enrichir cette collection.

Bibliographie :
Dubuffet, Jean. Catalogue de la Collection de l’Art Brut. Paris, 1971.
Maizels, John. Raw Creation. Outsider Art and Beyond. London, 1996, p. 126-137.
Neuve Invention. Lausanne, 1988.
Peiry, Lucienne. Art Brut. The Origins of Outsider Art. Paris, 2001.

Actualités

27.11.2014
Participation de Sarah Lombardi au Colloque international "Art Brut et Matérialité: de l'imaginaire à l'œuvre." [...]

18.10.2014
Conférence de Sarah Lombardi au Museum im Lagerhaus St.Gallen [...]

26.09.2014
Conférence de Lucienne Peiry sur Edith Boissonnas [...]

28.06.2014
Conférence de Lucienne Peiry sur Joseph Hofer [...]