L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Pascal Tassini - 13.02. - 10.05.2015



  • Pascal Tassini (1955) resorts to a variety of mediums—drawing, writing, fabric assemblages, ceramics and installations—to invent a highly personal world and mythology all of his own. His creativity can be traced back to the Créahm workshop in Liège (Belgium): there he set up a cabin/den which, to this day, he continues to reconstruct.

    In no way does this creator's oeuvre constitute a series of objects in any sort of coherent chronology; instead, each piece can be said to belong to a dynamic whole, with Pascal Tassini himself at its center. The selection of both textile sculptures and writings for this show are comparable to weird satellites issued by/from his den, yet imbued with a strongly evocative, individual power.

    Working without either thread or needle, Tassini fashions rags shred into strips —sometimes with bits of wool, plastic bags or artificial flowers attached to them—into small balls, or else into wide-spanning and complex compositions bearing strange outgrowths like so many adjuncts. Sometimes, too, he will pick up a chair or stool to wrap and cover in several layers, inducing their metamorphosis. In patient fashion, he rolls up fragments of clothing or salvages pieces of fabric, tying them into knots in a slow and ever so precise manner that can be endlesssly repetitive. The resulting feel of intimacy his textile oeuvre projects stems from the materials used, retaining as these do the memory of their past life and former purpose.

    The exhibition presents works from the Collection de l'Art Brut acquired in 2013 and 2015, together with loans by the Créahm Workshop and the MADmusée Collection (both Liège). Also on display are photographs by Mario Del Curto and a film (by Christophe Hella) showing Pascal Tassini at work on his creations.

    Exhibition curators:    
    Pierre Muylle, Director of the MADmusée, Liège
    Anic Zanzi, Curator of the Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne.

    Pascal Tassini's exhibition in the medias:
  • Practical information

    Dates

    february 13 - may 10, 2015


    Opening reception

    Thursday 12 february 2015. 6:30 pm


    Exhibition curator

    Pierre Muylle, Director of the MADmusée, Liège
    Anic Zanzi, Curator of the Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne.


    Publication

    A bilingual publication (FR/AN) on Pascal Tassini's œuvre comprises texts by Béatrice Jacquet, Teresa Maranzano, Pierre Muylle and Denise Biernaux, and features a wealth of illustrations and photographs of the pieces.
    Pascal Tassini,
    Liège, Co-ed. MADmusée – Créahm, 2011 (106 pages, 88 ill.).


    Accessibility  

    The exhibition is accessible to people with reduced mobility.

    Free guided tour

    February 14 at 2pm
    online booking, within the limits of the seats available.

    Young public workshop (ages 8-12)
    Fee: 10.- per child

    February 14 at 2pm
    May 9 at 2pm
    online booking, within the limits of the seats available.

    Guided tours

    Upon request for groups and classes: in French, German, English and Italian.

    Free guided tour for teachers (duration 60 min)

    Thursday 19 february 5pm
    online booking, within the limits of the seats available.

    Biography-ies:

L’ART BRUT

FR | EN


Pascal Tassini - 13.02. - 10.05.2015



  • Pascal Tassini (1955) invente un univers et une mythologie personnels par le biais de plusieurs médias: dessin, écriture, assemblage textile, céramique et installation. La cabane qu’il a érigée au sein de l’atelier du Créahm, à Liège, elle-même en perpétuelle reconstruction, est à l’origine de toute sa création.

    L’œuvre de cet auteur d’Art Brut belge ne peut être appréhendée comme une série d’objets ayant une cohérence chronologique, mais comme participant chacun à un ensemble dynamique dont Pascal Tassini serait le centre. Les sculptures textiles et les écrits sélectionnés pour l’exposition, semblables à des satellites insolites émanant de sa cabane, possèdent toutefois une forte puissance d’évocation individuelle.

    Sans fil ni aiguille, à partir de chiffons découpés en lanières, auxquels il lui arrive d’ajouter des bouts de laine, des sacs plastiques ou des fleurs artificielles, Pascal Tassini façonne des boules de petites dimensions, ainsi que des compositions complexes de grande envergure, pourvues d’étranges excroissances semblables à des appendices. Ce sont parfois aussi des objets, tels que des chaises ou des tabourets, qu’il emballe, recouvre de multiples couches et métamorphose. Les fragments de vêtements ou les morceaux de tissus récupérés sont patiemment enroulés, noués par des gestes lents et précis, inlassablement répétés. De par leurs matériaux qui conservent encore la mémoire de leur vie passée et le souvenir de leur fonction antérieure, ces œuvres textiles relèvent de l’intimité.

    L’exposition présente de nouvelles œuvres de la Collection de l’Art Brut acquises en 2013 et 2015, ainsi que des prêts de l’atelier du Créahm et du Madmusée à Liège, comprenant des pièces récentes et inédites. Elle propose également des photographies de Mario del Curto et un film réalisé par Christophe Hella, montrant Pascal Tassini sur son lieu de création.

    Commissaires de l’exposition:
    Pierre Muylle, directeur du Madmusée, Liège
    Anic Zanzi, conservatrice à la Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne.

    L'exposition Pascal Tassini dans les médias:
  • Informations pratiques

    Dates

    Du 13 février au 10 mai 2015


    Vernissage

    jeudi 12 février 2015 à 18h30


    Commissaire

    Pierre Muylle, directeur du Madmusée, Liège
    Anic Zanzi, conservatrice à la Collection de l’Art Brut, Lausanne.


    Publication

    Un catalogue bilingue (FR/AN) présentant l’œuvre de Pascal Tassini réunit des textes de Béatrice Jacquet, Teresa Maranzano, Pierre Muylle et Denise Biernaux. L’ouvrage est illustré de nombreuses œuvres et photographies.
    Pascal Tassini,
    Liège, Co-ed. MADmusée – Créahm, 2011 (106 pages, 88 ill.).

    Affiche, affichette, cartes postales

    Affiche format mondial (120 x 90 cm) et affichette de l’exposition; cartes postales.


    Accessibilité  

    L’exposition est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite.

    Visite commentée publique gratuite
    (entrée du musée payante) - durée 60 min.

    samedi 14 février à 14h
    Inscription en ligne, dans la limite des places disponibles.

    Ateliers jeune public (8-12ans)
    Durée 1h30/ Prix: 10.- par enfant

    samedi 14 février à 14h
    samedi 9 mai à 14h
    Inscription en ligne, dans la limite des places disponibles.

    Visites sur demande

    Pour groupes et classes : visites sur demande (en français, allemand, anglais et italien)

    Visite commentée gratuite pour enseignants (durée 60 min)

    jeudi 19 février à 17h
    Destinée aux enseignants des niveaux secondaires et postobligatoires.
    Inscription en ligne, dans la limite des places disponibles.

    Biographie-s: